Friday, April 19, 2024
    HomeSportsLamar Jackson beats Mahomes by nine months

    Lamar Jackson beats Mahomes by nine months


    Ravens quarterback MVP of the NFL
    Lamar Jackson beats Mahomes by nine months

    Lamar Jackson hasn't made it to the Super Bowl yet, but he does win an important award shortly before the most important game of the season. As one of only a few for the second time. He even steals a record from Chiefs quarterback Mahomes.

    Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson has been named most valuable player in the NFL professional football league for the second time. The 27-year-old had led his team to first place with 13 wins and four defeats in the main round. In the playoffs, Baltimore failed in the semifinals against defending champions Kansas City Chiefs (10:17).

    Jackson, who once again shone with his strong running game this season and gained 821 yards of space, was already voted MVP in 2019/20. He is the youngest player in NFL history to be voted MVP twice. The previous record holder, Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes, was just over nine months older at the time of his second award. Jackson is only the eleventh player in NFL history to win the title twice.

    Jackson embraces all of Baltimore

    Unlike Mahomes, who is aiming for his third ring with the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday, Jackson has never won the Super Bowl. Two weeks ago, Jackson and the Ravens lost to Mahomes' Chiefs in the AFC Championship Game 10:17.

    He was still happy about the award. “I would like to thank the Baltimore Ravens for finally finalizing the contract,” said the MVP, who signed a new five-year, $260 million contract in the summer of 2023. “I can't thank my offense enough for what they've done,” he added: “I don't block, I don't catch the ball, I don't do any of that. An award like this is always a team effort.”

    This time, Dak Prescott (Dallas Cowboys), Christian McCaffrey, Brock Purdy (both San Francisco 49ers) and Josh Allen (Buffalo Bills) ended up behind him in the final round of the five best. Jackson received 49 out of 50 in first place votes. Running back McCaffrey received the award for best offensive player. Rookie of the Year was quarterback CJ Stroud of the Houston Texans. McCaffrey and Purdy perform on Monday night (00.30 a.m. CEST/RTL and in the live ticker on with the Niners in Super Bowl LVIII (58) against the Chiefs.

    Related articles


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest posts