Home Reviews JEE 2017 Important Changes Offpage 44

JEE 2017 Important Changes Offpage 44

5 min read

JEE 2017 – Important changes


Joint Entrance Exam (JEE) is an all India common engineering entrance exam conducted every year for the students seeking admissions into prestigious engineering colleges across India. JEE 2017 is a two-tier entrance examination and will be conducted in two phases namely,

  • JEE Main
  • JEE Advanced

IITJEE is conducted in online as well as offline mode. The regulatory authority for JEE Main 2017 is Central Board of Secondary Education whereas JEE Advanced 2017 will be conducted by IIT Madras.

For the year 2017, two major changes have been notified by the Human Resource Development Ministry (HRD Ministry) which is as follows:

  1. No Weightage to Class XII Marks for determining ranks for JEE Main 2017

The Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (HRD Ministry) has declared that there will be no weightage to class 12 marks in JEE Main 2017. As per the Ministry, class 12th marks will not be a parameter for determining rankings in the Joint Entrance Exam 2017. The HRD Ministry has taken this decision at the request of a committee set up by IIT Council.

  1. Criteria for getting admission into IIT/NIT/IIIT or other CFTI

For students seeking admissions into IIT/ NIT/IIIT or other CFTI (Centrally Funded Technical Institutes) in which the admission is dependent on the JEE Main/ JEE Advanced ranks, the candidate must have secured at least 75% marks in the 12th class examination (or equivalent) or be in the top 20 percentile in the 12th class examination conducted by the respective boards. For SC/ST candidates the qualifying marks would be 65% in the 12th class examination or equivalent. But your class 12th marks will not be a determining factor of your all India JEE rank. Check for :- TNTET Result

  1. In the year 2016, 40% weightage was given to class 12th marks for drawing the merit list of JEE Main 2016. Also, students with minimum 60% in the 12th board exams were only allowed to appear in the JEE Main. The Ministry has confirmed that this ranking system will be dispersed and the new pattern will be effective from 2017. Class 12th board exam marks will be just an eligibility criteria for the exam.
  1. Apart from these conditions, all Indian candidates must possess AADHAAR card issued by UIDAI. At the time of filling the application form candidates will be asked to enter their AADHAAR details, failing which they cannot fill the application form for JEE Main 2017. (Also look for :- UPSC NDA Admit Card)
  1. The candidates who have passed or appearing in Class XII examination from the states of Jammu and Kashmir, Assam and Meghalaya need to enter their passport number or ration card number or bank account number or any other valid government identity proof provided they should select the city of examination in these states only.

JEE exam pattern and the JEE syllabus are the same as the previous year; the only thing that has been changed is the ranking system.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Raj Hirvate
Load More In Reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Best Spy Apps for Android Devices

We live in a society where people cheated on each other or kids go in the wrong direction.…